BEAM

Beyond the last mile: applying MSD in host and refugee markets in Ethiopia and Uganda

Date
March 12, 2024
Location
Online
Organisation
BEAM Exchange

BEAM Grab the Mic webinar

Date: Tuesday, 12 March 2024
Time: 8am (NY/DC), 1pm (UK/UTC), 2pm (CET), 4pm (EAT/Kenya)
7pm (Bangladesh) [time converter]
The webinar will last for 1 hour.

Speakers:
Paul Joicey, Team Leader, Strengthening Host and Refugee Populations in Ethiopia (SHARPE)
Collins Apuoyo, Chief of Party, Inclusive Agricultural Markets Activity (IAM) Uganda

The application of the MSD approach to programmes working in a context of protracted displacement is relatively new, but part of a wider movement that is encouraging the private sector to include refugees within their business models. 

This webinar will explore the potential, and some of the challenges, of applying MSD principles and approaches with both host and refugee communities. It will draw on experiences from SHARPE in Ethiopia and IAM in Uganda.

It will focus on:

  • Strategies used to engage with the private sector in refugee hosting regions, exploring differences between host and refugee markets and some of the specific challenges faced in reaching refugees. 
  • How the two programmes have worked with the private sector to ensure sustainability of the business models - and how to encourage their replication and scaling.
  • The extent to which both programmes have been able to coordinate with, and influence, other actors including the government (and their policies and approaches to refugees) and humanitarian agencies.

Presentations will be followed by 30 minutes audience Q&A

Additional Information: