BEAM

Using evidence to guide intervention design for the Somalia IRiS programme

Date
May 21, 2024
Location
Online
Organisation
BEAM Exchange

BEAM Grab the Mic webinar

Date: Tuesday 21 May 2024
Time: 8am (NY/DC), 12 noon (UTC), 1pm (UK), 2pm (CEST), 3pm (EAT/Kenya), 6pm (Bangladesh) [time converter]
The webinar will last for 1 hour.

Speakers:
From Itad:
Alexandra Cervini Mull, Deputy Director and Jason Wares, Managing Associate
and
Silas Ochieng, IRiS MEL Director, DT Global

How can programme designers ensure they find and draw essential lessons from the evidence of other projects in the region?

The Inclusive Resilience in Somalia (IRiS) Activity aims to accelerate economic development for marginalised groups - in the fisheries, livestock, crop and skills development sectors - using a market systems development approach.

This webinar will share some of the findings of the evidence review that have helped define the programme’s design interventions.

When looking for evidence, the research team sought examples with results at four levels: intervention; systemic change; growth and access to services; and poverty reduction.

The webinar will provide case studies identified from similar projects and interventions that are helping IRiS design and roll out its own programme interventions and objectives.

The speakers will:

  • Provide and overview and key findings of the evidence review exercise
  • Discuss examples of programmes identified that had similar results to those IRiS are pursuing
  • Provide recommendations for programmes with similar focuses (MSD, livelihood development, agriculture) to build on and integrate into their programme design
  • Share how IRiS integrated and implemented the findings and recommendations into their intervention designs, strategic decisions and Theory of Change revision at the end of Year 1 of the programme

Presentations will be followed by 30 minutes audience Q&A

Additional Information: