BEAM

Where do MSD leaders come from? Building the next generation

Date
April 18, 2024
Location
Online
Organisation
BEAM Exchange

BEAM Grab the Mic webinar

Date: Thursday 18 April 2024
Time: 8am (NY/DC), 1pm (UK/BST), 2pm (CEST), 3pm (EAT/Kenya)
6pm (Bangladesh) [time converter]
The webinar will last for 1 hour.

This webinar focuses on the varied career pathways of MSD leaders and what implementers and donors can do to create more opportunities for local staff to grow into senior leadership roles.

Historically, effort has focused on building the technical skills of programme staff, rather than leadership skills of programme managers. And yet, programme leaders are critical to the success of MSD programmes.

The recently published brief, Where do MSD leaders come from? (and where do they go?), draws on the rich experiences of the 42 participants in the MSD Leadership Clinics. The brief analyses career trajectories to provide insight into critical career transitions and the supporting role of organisations. 

Lead author Mike Klassen will walk through the key pathways and transition points. These will be brought to life through real-life examples of three MSD leaders who will share their reflections on their own careers:

  • Fouzia Nasreen, Independent consultant and long-term advisor, Swisscontact
    Fouzia rose through the ranks of Katalyst before becoming a team leader of M4C in Bangladesh, then moved into international consulting for a wide range of MSD programmes.
  • Dhita Radcliffe, Complex Program Start-Up Team Lead, Highland Resilience Activity – Mercy Corps Ethiopia.
    Dhita began as a technical leader on PRISMA, rose to leadership roles then switched to consulting to broaden her experience. She is now Senior Advisor for Mercy Corps' MSD4E, and recently was team lead for a new project start-up.
  • John Rachkara, Chief of Party for USAID FtF Nigeria Rural Resilience Activity (RRA), Mercy Corps
    John worked for multiple organisations and MSD programmes in Uganda & East Africa before joining RRA in Nigeria as DCOP, then recently became COP.

     
  • Register for the webinar