BEAM

Adapting MSD to fragile and conflict-affected situations: lessons for COVID response

Date
July 12, 2021
Location
Online
Organisation
BEAM Exchange

BEAM Grab the Mic webinar

Date: Monday 12th July, 2021
1pm (UK), 8am (NY/DC), 2pm (CEST), 3pm (Kenya)   (time converter)

Speakers:
Karri Byrne, Senior Market Systems Advisor (and author of the papers)
Aysha Johnson, Private Sector Development Adviser, FCDO
Laura Meissner, Senior Economic Recovery Advisor, USAID
Sasha Muench, Country Director (Palestine), Mercy Corps
Corrie Sissons, Global Technical Advisor, CRS

*Registered last minute and not received the joining link? Join here*

This webinar will explore using the MSD approach to help recovery in fragile and conflict-affected situations, from both donor and implementer perspectives, for COVID recovery. It will be based on two working papers produced by the DCED MSD Working Group.

Fragile contexts are home to 23 per cent of the world’s population and 76 per cent of all those living in extreme poverty globally. The pandemic has pushed many countries further into crisis, resulting in record-breaking needs.

Karri Byrne will highlight key points from the working papers, for donors and for implementers. The papers address the need for humanitarian and development communities to ensure that while specific immediate shocks are addressed, underlying systemic issues are not ignored or further undermined.

You will hear four short stories – two from implementers (Mercy Corps & CRS) and two from donors (FCDO & USAID) – that will help illustrate the practical challenges faced on the ground.

You will be invited to join the discussion and put your questions to the speakers - the papers are work in progress and we value your input to develop them further.